Nepal, land of the Mount Everest and birth place of Gautam Buddha, is a landlocked country in South Asia. Nepal is officially the Federal Democratic Republic of Nepal. Nepal is a multiethnic nation with Nepali as the official language and Kathmandu as the nation’s capital city. Nepal’s national anthem is सयौं थुँगा फूलका (Nepali) Made of Hundreds of Flowers (English) and it has its motto जननी जन्मभूमिश्च स्वर्गादपि गरीयसी (Sanskrit) Mother and Motherland are Greater than Heaven (English). Nepal is often called a yam between two boulders as it borders China in the north and India in the east, west and south.

General Information

Official language Nepali
Capital city Kathmandu
Area 147,181 km2 (56,827 sq miles)
Population Approx 26.4 million
Currency Nepalese rupee (NPR)
Time zone UTC+05:45 (Nepal Standard Time)

Government Information

Kingdom of Nepal 1768 – 2008
Republic of Nepal 2008 – Present
Government type Federal parliamentary republic
President Bidhya Devi Bhandari
Vice President Nanda Kishor Pun
Prime Minister Khadga Prasad Oli
Chief Justice Om Prakash Mishra
House Speaker Krishna Bahadur Mahara
Minister for Foreign Affairs Pradeep Kumar Gyawali

Geographical Information

Physiographic areas 3 (Himal,  Pahad, Terai)
Provinces 7
Districts 77
Metropolises 6
Sub-metropolises 11
Municipal councils 276
Village council 460
Local units 753